Grief: An Essential Part of Mental Health

Uncategorized

Death is inevitable, it is the one thing that everyone is guaranteed. Coping with death is also something that everyone will have to go through at some point in their lives. Though many would like to think there is a “one size fits all” way to grief, there simply is not. There is not a set timeline, nor is there a correct way to grieve. Everyone is different.

sad boy.jpeg

Some put their feelings away and make everything a joke, some turn inward and refuse to talk about it. Others, turn to journaling or some form of spiritual healing. No matter how you deal with the death of a loved one, know it is necessary to deal with it.

journaling

Grieving the loss of a loved one is required, for someone to “move on” with their life. No, I am not suggesting that you should forget all your precious memories to move on from missing your loved one, I am simply suggesting that you must learn a new normal living without them.

I think this is the hardest part. Accepting a new normal is hard, for me anyways. I, like many I am sure, really despise change in general. Two years after the death of my treasured step-father, I still find myself tearing up when I hear any AC DC song. Old school rock and roll was his thing, he would listen to it in his truck, on the house speakers, etc. Honestly, I think he would listen to it anywhere he could blast it.

grief one

 

Grieving is essential for one’s mental health to stay upright. It may take you a while to realize what you are going through, and how to cope with it. However, once you get to this point, you will be in a better mental state.

 

Grief therapy and other services are available via a secure video platform. Schedule your appointment today at Destination Greatness Mental Health Services.

Keep on, keeping on.

 

Katheryn Burton

Clemson University, BS Psychology ’18

Case Management Intern

Destination Greatness, PLLC

 

blogfooterimage_sj

Leave a comment